#1 crucial step towards engaging employees

Listen!

Listen and let it be know that you want to listen. Meet with your employees one-on-one,face-to-face and let them know that you are there for them whenever they need it.

Take a look at the case below from Engaging for Success: enhancing performance through employee engagement.

Account Manager at Preston Brook, Nico Versluys, whose 11-year-old stepson has cerebral palsy, said he was grateful his manager made time for him. “Ryan needed a series of operations on his legs and it was a very stressful time,” said Nico. “But my manager always made time for me to talk about it. He said if things ever got too stressful then he’d give me the space I needed to get my head around things and talk it through. I never really needed to in the end but it was reassuring to know the offer was there if I needed it.”

Simple and powerful; now that’s what I call a good return on investment. Go! Let your employees know that you are there to listen to them.

Leave a Reply

