People Pay For Feelings

People pay for feelings. Massages, gourmet food, clothes; we spend money on these things because they make us feel good.

When someone asks you why you bought the latest BMW, you might answer, “Because it has a fast engine and a luxurious interior.” Ultimately though you bought it because it makes you feel good. A more accurate response would sound something like this, “Knowing that I have a fast engine and a luxurious interior makes me feel good.”

I remember my Dad coming home from listening to jazz music one night and saying, “The artists were good, but they played the music in their own style.” My Dad didn’t want to hear a remix of Fly Me To The Moon, he wanted to hear Fly Me To The Moon as he remembered hearing it.

Music that could have resulted in my Dad coming home and raving about his experience, resulted in my Dad coming home and describing a mediocre experience.

My Dad was there that evening to get a certain feeling. I go to jazz bars for the same reason. I am paying to feel a certain way. After all, the quality of our life depends greatly on how we feel. I often thank God for how happy I feel all the time. Good feelings are truly priceless.

What’s the lesson here?

How do you make your clients feel? If you make them feel good, they’ll come back for more.

If you’re reading this and saying to yourself, “I’ve got this down, I make my customers happy”, then you need to ask yourself this:

Am I solving the problem that this client came to me with? Let’s say for example that your client came to you because they needed you to help them learn how to gain more clients. Has your client gained more clients as a direct effect of the advice and guidance that you gave them?

Good feelings are wonderful and essential, but don’t forget about the results.

Here is a simple, but priceless equation.

Fantastic Feelings + Fantastic Results = A Fantastic Business

If you want a fantastic business give your clients A.) Fantastic Feelings and B.) Fantastic Results. These are two essential parts of a fantastic business.

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

–Maya Angelou

Take that quote, add fantastic results and watch your business grow grow grow!

One response to “People Pay For Feelings

  1. What wonderful ideas and expressed beautifully. Loved reading this and reminding myself people remember how I made them feel and I strive to give the best of myself: however, the need or expectation is not always clear . next it necessary is clarify the need .

Leave a Reply

